The Road to PyWeek — Second Thoughts about XML

I’m having second thoughts about my engine.

I don’t think it’s practical. I think maybe my efforts would be better spent on building a working engine than getting caught up in a HURD-esque scenario of chasing a “superior” system that winds up becoming more and more of a monstrosity as it develops.

In that vein, I’m going to be changing strategies.

I may scrap my XML-based system as well, but I’m not sure yet.

I think I’d be better off just making the bloody game instead of over-engineering, which is becoming more and more of a problem for me.

That said, I’m kind of sad to see the XML system for what it is, but I think it’s best that I leave it be and focus on building a working game.

Whew, I feel better. It’s good not having that all on my shoulders. I’ve been too overzealous lately, and need to scale back. I’ll be continuing my second practice run, though, but I’m going to scale it back. 🙂

The XML system would have taken at least a month to develop, anyway, heh. XD

With that, I’m going to get to work on my main loop, get something that I can test, and maybe post the results a bit later. ^_^

Leave a Reply

